Road Test Requirements

We are currently working on being approved to offer the road test and do not offer that service at this time, however we can recommend local third party businesses for your convenience.

If you decide to take your road test at the DPS, here are their requirements:

DPS website: https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/teenDriver.htm

Applying for your Provisional Driver License

When you are ready to apply for a provisional driver license and have completed all the learner license requirements, you will need to visit a driver license office and provide additional documentation. You may download this checklist to assist with gathering the required documentation.

1. Complete the driver license application before arriving at your local office. (This form is also available at all driver license offices)
2. Bring a parent or legal guardian and visit your local driver license office. You may be able to get in-line before arriving. Locate the office nearest you.
3. Provide the following documentation to the license and permit specialist:

  • Application for the issuance of a driver license.
  • Evidence of lawful presence, if you are not a U.S. Citizen
  • Proof of Identity
  • Texas Driver Education Certificate of Completion (DE-964 or DE-964E)
  • Verification of Enrollment and Attendance* (VOE requires a signature. A stamped or computer generated signature of the school official is acceptable)
  • Evidence of successfully passing the driving test (if you took the driving test at a driver training school, the results must be provided by the school in a sealed envelope and provided to DPS at the time you are applying for your license)
  • Impact Texas Driver Program Certificate of Completion

4. Provide your signature.
5. Provide your thumbprints.
6. Have your picture taken.
7. Pay the application fee.
8. Pass Vision Exam.
9. Provide proof of Vehicle Insurance (if you will be taking the driving skills test)

*Verification of Enrollment is currently waived until further notice due to COVID-19.

You may complete the driving test requirements at the DL office or through a Third Party provider. Read about testing in other languages and driving test requirements. If you will be taking your driving test at a local driver license office, you will be required to:

  • Schedule an appointment online or through the driver license office for the driving test, and
  • Present proof of current registration and insurance for the vehicle you will be testing in at the time of the driving test.

Once your driver license has been issued, you will receive a temporary driver license. Before leaving the driver license office, review the printed information on your temporary driver license for accuracy. If any of the information is incorrect, notify the license and permit specialist. Your new card will arrive in the mail in approximately 2 – 3 weeks. To check the mailing status of your card, visit our mailing status web page.

You are eligible to renew your driver license up to 30 days prior to the expiration date, which will occur on your 18th birthday. If you choose to renew before you turn 18, you will need to be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. If you renew after your 18th birthday, you will no longer need to be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian; however, you must make alternate transportation arrangements to visit your local driver license office, as it is a violation of state law to operate a motor vehicle with an expired driver license.